Various - The Quietened Cosmologists (Dawn Edition)

Various - The Quietened Cosmologists (Dawn Edition)

Musician: Various
Album title: The Quietened Cosmologists (Dawn Edition)
Size MP3 version: 1416 mb
Size APE version: 1578 mb
Label: A Year In The Country ‎– A010TQCD
Type: CDr, Album, Limited Edition, Numbered
Country: UK
Date of released: 03 Oct 2017
Category: Electronic
Style: Abstract, Dark Ambient, Drone, Leftfield, Ambient, Experimental
Rating ✫: 4.3
Votes: 283
Genre: Electronic

Various - The Quietened Cosmologists (Dawn Edition)


1 Field Lines Cartographer OPS-4
2 Pulselovers* Lonely Puck
3 Magpahi Chayka
4 Howlround Night Call, Collect
5 Vic Mars X-3
6 Unit One Voyages Of The Moon
7 A Year In The Country The March Of Progress/Frontier Dreams
8 Keith Seatman 093A-Prospero
9 Grey Frequency Phantom Cosmonauts
10 Time Attendant Adrift
11 Listening Center Mléčný Perihelion Weekend
12 Polypores The Amateur Astronomer
13 David Colohan Landfall At William Creek


  • Artwork By – AYITC Ocular Signals Department


Limited to 104 copies.

The Quietened Cosmologists is a reflection on space exploration projects that have been abandoned and/or that were never realised, of connected lost or imagined futures and dreams, the intrigue and sometimes melancholia of related derelict sites and technological remnants that lie scattered and forgotten.

It takes as its initial starting points the shape of the future’s past via the discarded British space program of the 1950s to 1970s; the sometimes statuesque and startling derelict artifacts and infrastructure from the Soviet Union's once far reaching space projects; the way in which manned spaceflight beyond Earth's orbit/to the moon and the associated sense of a coming space age came to be largely put to one side after the 1969 to 1972 US Apollo flights.

Hand-finished white/black CDr album in textured recycled fold out sleeve with inserts and badge.

Further encasement details:
Further encasement details:
1) Custom printed using archival giclée pigment ink.
2) Includes 25mm/1″ badge, secured with removable glue on string bound tag.
3) Back of one insert hand numbered.

Hand-finished and custom printed by A Year In The Country.

From The Furthest Signals is released as part of the A Year In The Country project, which via the posts on its website and music releases has carried out a set of year long explorations of an otherly pastoralism; the undercurrents and flipside of bucolic dreams, the further reaches of folk music and culture, work that takes inspiration from the hidden and underlying tales of the land and where such things meet and intertwine with the lost futures, spectral histories and parallel worlds of what has come to be known as hauntology.